BBW, Fashion, Full Figured, plus size

Why BBW is offensive

Hey Foxx stars!

So let me just jump right into my rant. So yesterday I was super excited because I finally got my material to make my photo box and I was getting ready to take pictures of my favorite beauty products of July, Whelp that plan flew right out the window as I got side tracked by Facebook and came across a video that one of my friends was tagged in. The call to action was Go Tag a Big Fine Woman.  The name of the video is The New Big Girl Anthem “BBW” Formation. In the comments of the video there are people laughing and making a mockery of BBW and there are other woman tagging there BBW friends as the post calls for them to do so.  All the BBW I assume are liking and commenting on the video because the video is celebrating them for being Big and Beautiful. I just feel like as a society we have come so far just to go back and pick up what we left behind.

I never like to be referred to as being Big and Beautiful because it is offensive to me. All the groups I am apart of and all the Instagram posts and pages I see celebrating woman for being big and beautiful is simply offensive, like why can’t I just be referred to as being Beautiful. Never once have I seen Victoria secret models being referred to as small and beautiful, people just look to them as simply beautiful especially when they rip the runway in their bra and panties flaunting a size negative zero.

so anyway back to the video, there are video girls who are all plus size they are doing choreography and its pretty lit. Then a scene comes where the main character of the video has a snack in her mouth and one on each side of her chest. and at that moment I just face palm myself because its like every time there is a video with “BBW” there is always a reference to food or snacks and then what was meant to be a celebration of beauty of all sizes now turns in to a joke for everyone’s amusement. I can’t tell you how annoying it is to sit back and watch how our community is constantly the butt of all jokes.

I want to be on the glamorous side of plus size I don’t want people to look at me and say oh she’s cute for a big girl. Like what does that actually mean? what does my size have to do with me being attractive or desirable? I have yet to hear someone call Tyra Banks cute for a skinny girl. That’s because it doesn’t make sense it doesn’t even sound right. So why are we as curvier woman so willing to accept the terms that are given to us.

It’s like we are so happy to be recognized and thrown a bone that we are willing to accept what ever scraps or forms of flattery that come our way, and that is the reason we are treated the way we are and there is such a lack of respect for our community. People look down upon us as if we are a charity case or like we are some homeless person who the government decided to give refuge to under conditions that they would be allowed to refer to that homeless person however they wished. Or like a 4-year-old preschooler who just did a school play and had a speaking role of three lines and you still said awwww look at my baby doing the best he can with those three lines. you go baby mama’s proud of you. Its like I can hear the undertone or unspoken language of the term BBW as its meant to be condescending and hurtful by the people who use it but celebrated by the people its meant for. I’m so confused.  Am I happy with the term that is used to describe people who are not a size 10 and under? Absolutely not. Can I change the way we are viewed. Absolutely.

Thanks for reading

Beautiful WomanJust because!

IMG_9863
Beautiful Just Because
IMG_9478 (2)
High Fashion Beauty
IMG_9265
Naked  Beauty
Leave a Reply

